Wyatt Gooden takes dominant victory at Mid Ohio

The field at Mid Ohio at the start of the race

Real life VW Jetta racer Wyatt Gooden took his first Shark Racing Jetta club victory with a dominant display at the Mid Ohio circuit.

After taking pole with a time of 1:38.749, which was nearly 3 tenths faster than second place driver Mika Korkeamäki, Gooden controlled the race from start to finish.

A passing move by Mika Korkeamäki on Henri Vierumäki at the hairpin

As the cars lead into the first corner, Korkeamäki got a tap from Steven Jones, and he lost several places. At the end of the first lap, it was Rory King who was in second place, and he stuck with Gooden as the race progressed.

Korkeamäki had to fight his way back to the front after his early spin, passing several cars including Henri Vierumäki, passing on the inside as they went through the second hairpin. Korkeamäki would eventually finish just outside of the podium in 4th place.

Simon Trendell just beat Korkeamäki to third, with only 4 tenths of s second separating them as they went over the line. Kevin Savoie finished in a solid 5th position, after starting from 8th on the grid.

James A. Barrington also had to make a recovery drive from the back after he fell off the track early on in the race. He finished in 7th behind Henri Vierumäki after passing Scott Arrington, Andrew Cherry and Julian Dyer as he made his way back up the field.

Gooden taking the victory at Mid Ohio

Gooden took the victory a comfortable 07.192 seconds head of Rory King. He also took the fastest lap of the race with a time of 1:39.347.

Voting has started for next week’s even – so, as always, get voting!

« Return to the news page
Comments Off

Comments are closed.

  • Next race:

    Events coming soon

    Dates to be announced

  • About Us

    The Shark Racing Jetta Club runs iRacing hosted races every week, providing fun racing for people of all skill levels.

    Come and join us on the server for fun, fast, and furious Jetta TDI Racing!

    We race every Tuesday at 8pm UK time.

    Find out more on the About Us page.

  • Vote for the next track

    Voting has closed for this week.

  • Twitter